New Zealand has 78 local authorities,  with around 1600 elected members: mayors, regional council chairs, councillors, local board members and community board members.

  • 11 regional councils
  • 61 territorial authorities – 11 are city councils and 50 are district councils
  • Six unitary councils – which are territorial authorities with regional council responsibilities

The Local Government New Zealand website has a wealth of information about local authorities and how they work, including maps such as the ones here: